It’s been a scary week

I can honestly say I don’t want a repeat of this week.

Its probably been mostly in my head but everything just seemed to become really emotional  and I got upset by it all.

As you know, I went for my Visa interview in December.  My medical was in November and at my interview I was told I had to make my visa entrance to the USA within six months of the medical date.  That means I have to go there before 8th May 2017.  I was also told at my interview that although my visa had been agreed, I needed to forward some further paperwork before it would be issued.  All fine, I came back..had a lovely Christmas and forwarded the information they wanted by email.  Done.

To date..I have still not received my  visa.  I hadn’t  heard a thing from the embassy and although I have sent everything,  my case online still says ‘AWAITING FURTHER DOCUMENTATION’.

At the beginning of this week I started to panic.  I tried to call the embassy but as I’ve said before, there is absolutely nobody to talk to there.  I called and was told that nobody in the Consular department takes calls and I would need to email.  It was like banging my head against a brick wall as I had sent three emails and had no response but there was nothing more I could do.  I felt completely out  of control of the situation  and at a loss what to do next.  What if they had lost the further paperwork I had sent ?  How would they know ?  How would I know ? I’m very aware that our house needs to go up for sale in the next couple of weeks and I have to make my entrance to the US.  I really started to panic.. my mind was doing overtime… there must be something wrong with the paperwork  I had sent.  There seemed no logical explanation for the visa not being sent so my mind tried to find lots of its own.   I didn’t sleep at all on Monday or Tuesday night and I didn’t feel at all well on Wednesday.  I was very tearful.    On Thursday lunchtime my mobile rang.. Julie Reid ?  Yes. It’s the United States embassy here.  Just to let you know we have received all of your emails and will be in touch in the next couple of days.    I felt better just by that contact.  Yesterday I received an email saying that my visa has now been fully approved and forwarded to the courier company for despatch to my home address within the next five days .  Never have I felt such relief.

I don’t know why I let it all get to me like that.  I really was emotional..stressed ..and to put it mindly..I was panicking.  Of course the visa is still not physically in my hands tho…..

img_2364

I have continued to clear the computer room / office.  There  is a huge storage cupboard that I keep linen in, spare pillows, quilts, etc etc and also I have in there my special Smith family memories box.  In this box are the cds my brother Martin did for the birth’s of my children.  Hilariously funny and with all my favourite music so absolutely priceless to me.  There is the mega mix cd that Martin did when we lost our lovely sister Sue.  It catalogues her life in pictures and has all hers and our favourite tunes so again it’s absolutely priceless to me.  We also have a DVD called ‘Images you know well’ When we were kids my parents had a movie camera and took lots and lots of film of our family life and of their business.  My father owned a  vehicle repair / bodywork garage  and the Jet petrol station in Rainham.  There is movie of us kids working there, our dogs, us walking home from school, my sister Lisa spraying my dad with the water hosepipe.  Just ordinary cine film to anybody else but Martin has edited it and put  it onto  a DVD for us all to have a copy.  Again this is priceless.  Sometimes I just love to watch it on my own.  It can make me cry but it’s such a wonderful thing to have.  I also have in this box the letters Randy and I sent to each other when we were first together.  Actually I say that but really they were right up to even after we had the children.  Some slushy ones  but mostly just chatty notes which we always sent each other.   I often wonder what our kids will make of that when they read them sometime in the future.   Anyway, I have decided that this box is far too important to be sent over to America with the rest of our stuff.  When I go over in March  to make my visa entry I will be taking it with me to leave with Carol and Barry to look after for me until we arrive later in the year.

img_3182

So that’s the next thing to happen I guess.  Once that visa is in my hands I will book my flight to San Francisco to make my visa entrance.  This will be in the first cœuple of weeks of March. The visa entrance consists of another shorter interview and some sealed documents that I have been given by the embassy to be handed over before they allow me to enter.  It all sounds very official and I really will be glad when it’s all done and I can travel back and forth easily.   I’m going on my own as Randy will stay here to keep everything running at home.  I’ll stay with Carol and Barry and hopefully we can look at some houses just to get an idea of what’s on offer.  I’m also going to try and open a bank account.  I’ve heard this can be a difficult process when you’re an alien so having an immigrant visa may help.  I’ll let you know.     I think the thing I’m probably thinking about now is hiring a car for when I get there and driving from San Francisco to Oakley… on the opposite side of the  road..bit of jet lag..strange country …should be fun.

Last week I told you about Nicks childhood collections of Yu gi oh cards and figures, Doctor Who cards and Bakugan bits we had found in the loft and put up for sale on eBay.  Well so far he has made £95 and there are still some to finish auction.  He is very pleased.  Just have to pack up and send now.

Of course…we still have Alex’ stuff to sort from the loft..should be very interesting.  We found a twin dolls pram which was given to Alex by her cousin Chrissie. It’s a bit vintage and not in terrific condition but it’s lovely so we gave it to Bradley at the charity shop.  I’m sure it will make a lovely window  display for something .

img_4706

Ive just spoken to Carol and she tells me we have to get a Californian drivers licence within  30 days of our arrival.  I’m currently downloading their test to study before I go over in March and with any luck I’ll be able to do that then ….. oh this just gets better…  but I’m smiling..I really am!!

Until next time……

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Avril Newton says:

    Good grief….I now feel nervous too…..😱

    Everything will be fine and dandy…..I’m sure of it ❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Christa Emberson says:

    Really good to hear the Embassy have contacted you and your visa is on its way. You are certainly going to be busy, no time to rest I cannot believe everything you still have to do! Still it will be awesome when you finally arrive and can start living the dream knowing what you have accomplished. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chris Robins says:

    Fascinating process! Just hope Trump’s shinaigans don’t cause you problems! X

    Liked by 1 person

  4. li516701 says:

    I’ve just started following your blog Julie…… brilliant!
    Brings back so many memories of 10 years ago when we all did the move!
    Is Nick going to? (I assume so)
    He should message Charlie sometime on Facebook !
    Deb (and Charlie Jiggins)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. juliereid01 says:

      Deb… I can’t believe it’s 10 years ! Have loved following your journey to a new life too. Yes Nick is going but not for another year as he wants to finish his A levels here first. Not happy about that ! I’ll tell him to contact Charlie. I think they have briefly spoken over the years, not sure. Really pleased you’re reading my blog. It’s quite therapeutic to do while all this going on. Xx

      Like

  5. Lesley says:

    It’s all becoming so real for you now Julie! It’s lovely finding old photos, cards etc – so many memories that will always stay with you xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. realmofvibes says:

    No worries! Cali will be wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

