It’s arrived !

A great week.. my visa has arrived !    On Monday the courier bought my visa.  It arrived with a further set of instructions for my initial entry into the US which must be made before May 8th.  I’ve confirmed some dates with Carol and Barry, the lovely people we will be staying with and set about booking my flights.  I still wasn’t sure how long I would have to stay but looking at the flights, it’s cheaper to book a return flight than a one way !   I’ve joined an internet US immigration forum and have asked the question and a very helpful lady replied that I don’t have to stay any time at all. As long as they are happy that I will be back to make my home there it shouldn’t be a problem.  I’ll let you know when I get out of the airport the other side.

So my flight  is booked and I’ll be flying to San Francisco in the first week of March hopefully for two weeks.  I’m really looking forward to that. I’ve missed Carol and Barry and really can’t wait to see them.  They’ve been so kind to offer us their home in the first few weeks /months after we arrive.    I think I’ll be looking at the area entirely different to the last time we visited.  That was a holiday and we had a great time.  This time I’ll be looking at the houses with a view to living in one.  I remember going to supermarkets etc just as a holidaymaker.  I was thinking about this during the last few days.  Living here all my life I know my favourite food shops, card shops, clothes shops etc.  I haven’t got a clue about any of their shops !  I’ll probably just follow our friends for a while until I get to know the stores better.  I’m really looking forward to this..it’s like a completely new way of life isn’t it ?  It will be great fun to explore.

img_4754

Of course, I still have to take my driving test after I’ve been there a while.  My English driving licence can only be used for 30 days and I need to learn their ‘highway code’ etc and take a test before they will give me a licence.  That’s worrying as I’m sure I’ve picked up some bad driving practises over the years ! Let’s hope I pass as I cannot imagine not  being able to drive over there.

I won’t be taking my PC with me as I really won’t need it.  I have my laptop and iPad so can pretty much do everything I need.  However, my PC currently has about 20,000 photos and 10,000 songs on it so over the next week I will be transferring them all to my hard drive.  I started this yesterday but although the hard drive is fine on the laptop it doesn’t seem to want to work with the PC.  Worrying as I’m scared I won’t get my photos etc off of there. Sooooooo if any of you know what the problem could be, please let me know.  Until then, I’ll be googling until I get to the bottom of it.  It’s so time consuming though so I would be grateful for any help.

A couple more boxes down from the loft so it’s nearly finished now.  The last few boxes were from the very back of the loft and probably haven’t been looked at since they were put there when we moved in !   I found some old school reports of mine.  I didn’t realise I was such a disruptive member of the class.  I remember my Mum reading that one and contacting the school as I was always quiet and timid when much younger. She couldn’t believe I could become this noisy disruptive person once I had left the house and contacted the headmistress to say they must have me mixed up with someone else !  She was very surprised when they said it was definitely me and that although I was fairly quiet I did not stop talking !  Me ?  As if .

I found all my 18 and 21st birthday cards too.  We seemed to make much more of ‘the key of the door’ in those days and I had a big box full of them, champagne glasses, keys etc.  Also the corks from the champagne we had on my 18th.  I was married by my 21st but remember the celebrations went on for a long time.  It was nice to read those cards, remember those people and just look back at that very special time in my life.

This week my sister Lisa, brother Martin and myself decided to meet for breakfast in town.  That plan changed to lunch in Colne Engaine.  We went to a gorgeous pub and looked through their sumptuous menu…and all decided to have……Ham, egg and chips.!   Was really lovely and we didn’t stop laughing,  will miss times like those x

Alex has returned from her trip to Germany to see her airman Justin.  They managed to cram a lot of sightseeing into those few days and  had a great time.  I like Justin, he certainly seems to take good care of her and make her very happy.

More bits to Bradley at the charity shop.  It’s starting to feel quite good actually.  The loft is a small part of the amount of things to do.  Not only to leave this house, but to up and ship to the US .  But since receiving the visa, its  all feeling very real now and I’m very aware of time passing.  My huge book ‘The Project’ has lots of lists which I’m following and checking off.

Tomorrow we are having a family get together at our house.   there will be about 20 of us   Plenty of food and drink and laughter.  Can’t wait …..

Thank you so much for reading my blog.  I love that you’re interested and love to read your comments.   Please add your email at the bottom to get my update notifications… 

Until  next time ….

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Lesley says:

    Everything’s falling into place now. The next few weeks, before you go to SF, will wiz by! Exciting times ahead xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. melissa says:

    Congratulations Julie! Sounds like things are really moving along now! And you know, about the driving test, don’t even worry about it. 1.How would any officer that stopped you know how long you have been in country anyway? and 2. Just hire a service, they are cheap and they will teach you AND give you the test privately as opposed to having to go to the DMV and take it with a total stranger in an unfamiliar area. I am happy for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, moving to San Fran. This will be a lovely adventure. Blessings to a new start.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Helen says:

    Julie, wonderful to read your blogs, gosh such wonderful times sifting through the memories stored in the loft. Such exciting times for your family. much love x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

