Time is whizzing by !

Well here we are in February …. it still feels cold, wet and wintry here in Halstead, Essex. UK.

We have finally cleared the loft.  It’s completely empty and ready now to be packed with the boxes ready to go to the US.  I have about 12 boxes packed up now, all labelled and ready to go.  Nick has put a few more  bits on eBay and made a few more £’s so he’s happy.  I’m just pleased to have made some space.  So now I can finish my office / computer room and the house will go up for sale this coming week.  I’m thinking of using one of those online estate agents.  As we aren’t in a particular rush it will be interesting to see how it works   I would love to know if anyone has done this successful or otherwise.   I’ll see how it goes for a couple of weeks and if no success I can go to our local estate agent in Halstead.

I’ve never fully been into our loft.  I’m not really great on heights so have avoided it and just peeped in from the ladder.  This week I thought I would go and have a look round and what a mistake that was.  Whilst on the ladder I toppled and ended up trapped between the ladder and the bathroom door..and got stuck there.  Randy was in the loft and heard the crash and came over to see me still balancing.  A scraped leg and a nasty bruise but I’m fine.  I’ll be staying away from the loft from now on  !

Last Saturday the family visited us for  a general catch up.  Barney our dog had his birthday so we used it as an excuse to get together, as if we need one.  Plenty of food and drink and laughter.  My lovely friend Christa came too with her partner Mark and it was a great evening.  Will miss these impromptu get togethers when I move abroad.

img_2472The lovely Christa…..a great friend x

On Tuesday I met up with my dear friend Teresa for coffee and breakfast.  Almost four hours later and we couldn’t believe how time had passed.   We both went to La sante Union Convent in Grays and have remained friends ever since.  Teresa came to the Convent a few years later than I did  when her family moved out of London to Essex.    I was telling her about finding my old school report saying I had been a disruption to the class.  She reminded me that we spent a lot of time just talking in class so it explains why my teachers obviously thought I was a chatterbox.    It was so good to see her and catch up with her news.  I remember when we were young her lovely Dad called me Julie Andrews.  Teresa’s mum and dad always held a special place in my heart and were lovely to me.  Sending lots of love and best wishes to Teresa and her family.

img_1906

So what to wear when I visit Carol and Barry in March ?   Currently I’m wearing trousers a lot with warm layers and coats and scarves as we are in the thick of our winter months and I don’t do cold very well.   My weather app says it will be about 20 degrees in Oakley when I go over in March which is quite cool to the natives but like a pleasant summer day here.  I’m still wearing my boots but should I take them ?  Warm jeans and sweaters or t shirts.?  Maybe a little of everything ?

My brother Geoff has a milestone birthday tomorrow and his lovely partner  Sue has booked him a Dodge Challenger to drive for a couple of days.  You may remember Geoff has always loved American cars and had a Chevrolet Impala when he was younger, until he collided with a 165 red double decker  bus in Mungo Park Road, Rainham and did himself , the car and the bus untold damage.  He is going to love his present from Sue !  Happy birthday Feffy.. looking forward to our family meet up next week to celebrate.

 

I think I have sorted the external hard drive problem.   I need to transfer (13,000 I’ve just found out !) photos from my PC to my laptop as don’t want to take my PC to the US. I was struggling to get the hard drive to work with the PC and have been offered lots of help from some great people, but I think I’ve done it…I feel pretty proud of that !  But I’ll keep you posted as still have to transfer 10,000 songs and all my documents yet.

I haven’t seen  The Pings for what seems like ages.  We have a few social events coming up so I’m hoping to catch up with them soon.   One of The Pings, Mandy is selling a lovely large mirror with the London Underground etched on it.  I’ve told her I’ll buy it from her as I think it will be lovely for me to have in America.  I absolutely love London and have taken some cracking  photos there so I’m looking forward to creating my London space somewhere in my new house.

This week my blog has reached over 5000 views !   I’m absolutely amazed by this.  I’m really not sure what is keeping you interested but I am so grateful to each and every one of you for sharing this journey with me.    I hope you continue to read my blog and please comment to say what you think.  I’m always grateful for ideas or anything you think I haven’t thought of or spoken about with regard to my move.  I really do appreciate your input.    I will be continuing right through my trip to San Francisco next month to make my visa entry and hope you will join me.

I thought I would add some photos

img_1970Me and my lovely sisters

img_1453Randy’s daughter Victoria and her boys

img_1779Happy Valentine’s Day ! 

And finally …..

img_2816

Until next time …..

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Avril Newton says:

    Oh no Me Julie….stay away from ANY ladders….hope you are ok….hope to see you and the pings soon….muchios love xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonymous says:

    Whose shipping your stuff over Julie ?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. juliereid01 says:

      I haven’t looked into that yet… do you know someone ?

      Like

  3. Sue Solomon says:

    Swoops missed my name off !!! Der !!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. juliereid01 says:

    Haven’t looked into that yet..do you know somebody ? Xx

    Like

    1. Anonymous says:

      I used to do deep sea imports but lost contact with most I knew. Depends how much you have…assume you’ll be sending by sea ?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. juliereid01 says:

        Yes it will be going by sea. We aren’t taking furniture etc. Just our life really… mainly boxes x

        Like

  5. Lesley says:

    Beautifully written again Julie xx Hope you’re okay after your fall xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Martin Smith says:

    Dont forget all… You can catch up with Julie’s updates on The Saturday Morning Breakfast Show on CO9 (www.mi-CO9.com)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Christa says:

    Sounds like you have had another busy week Julie! We love your family/friends gatherings. We are always made so welcome and don’t stop laughing all evening. I am certainly going to miss these! From the moment we met we just hit it off , something special clicked into place 😬 Hope you have fully recovered from the loft visit. See you again soon. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

