Jet Lag has kicked in

So I’ve arrived !   

Torrential  rain as we landed at San Francisco and a very very long wait to get through border control.  Not good after such a long flight but quickly forgotten as we make our way from the airport to Oakley.  The main roads were completely flooded and the water seemed to be running upwards and at least a wheel high.   It’s warming up here now, around 70 which is like a pleasant summer day at home, not too hot.

My sleep pattern is completely up the wall as I keep falling asleep early evening and waking at 3am.   Social media is obviously 8 hours ahead of me so 3am is a good time to catch up on my emails and most of my friends and family are on Facebook and messenger by that time.  At around 3pm here, my Facebook friends go quiet as everyone has gone to bed.  (Around 11pm at home ).  I check through the days updates but there’s nobody to interact with so it’s pretty quiet.


This is a lovely house.  It’s huge and very cosy.  Carol and Barry have lived here for around 13 years and it’s a real family home.       I am sleeping in a suite downstairs which has a bedroom, sitting area and en suite bathroom.  This is where Randy and I will be when we first arrive later in the year.   It’s so kind of them to let us stay here while we settle and find our house.


Yesterday  Carol and I went for a drive around the area.  She showed me the local Stores, restaurants etc which are all a short drive away.  The main thing I noticed which is so different to home is that there aren’t any people out and about walking on a Sunday, with their dogs or children.  There had been a fair bit of rain so maybe they didn’t fancy venturing out but it was very noticeable as when I drive through or walk around Halstead on a Sunday there are usually lots of people around, kids playing etc.  Will see if this changes here as the week goes on and the weather improves.

I spoke to Alex, Randy and Justin last night on FaceTime. That was nice but I felt a little homesick, even seeing Barney snoozing on the sofa…..

I will be chatting to my brother Martin live on his Saturday morning show CO9 this coming weekend from here in San Francisco so please listen in if you get the chance.   I’ll be telling him how it’s been so far and reporting on all things San Fran.   And believe me what I don’t know I’ll be making up.   Should be fun.  9am – 11am this coming Saturday morning 
Here’s the link

http://www.internet-radio.com/station/co9/
  

Will be back in a couple of days to let you know how it’s going.  I’m really missing Randy and the kids…..

Until next time ….

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hello my lovely! So nice reading your messages and hearing all is well. We are all missing you too! It has been strange as we do not see each other every day but knowing you are so far away and not round the corner makes me feel strange . I have been thinking of you a lot along with your lovely family here. I am certain they are missing you too. Carol and Barry’s home looks amazing. Glad you are settling in well and have already been out visiting the neighbourhood. You will be saying ” Have a nice day” to all the neighbours by the end of the week I am sure. 😁😁. You take care and enjoy your adventure. Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. juliereid01 says:

      This is anonymous so not really sure who it’s from…although I do have an idea… but thank you very much for your kind words xxx

      Like

  2. Lesley says:

    Glad you’re settling in well Julie xx Love keeping up to date on your blogs xx Enjoy yourself xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sue warner says:

    Wow what a beautiful house your friends have Julie. Enjoy your time there. Look forward to your chat on Saturday I’ll be tuned in. I’ll remind the pings at coffee tomorrow to listen in. Xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

