A year’s not long ! 

It’s hard to believe it’s been nearly seven weeks since I left for San Francisco to make my visa entry to the US ! I feel so much better now that it’s not such a rush to get packed up and leave. As you know I wasn’t able to get much done until I was sure my visa was going to be issued, even though there wasn’t any reason for it not to be. Once the visa was issued there was soooo much to do in a short space of time. Now that we have decided to wait for Nick to finish his A levels before we go, it means we can take our time getting ready. I’m sure this next year will fly by just as the last one has but I feel better staying with my boy.    We have decided to do some work on the house over the summer. I’ve made a to-do list and will hopefully get through it all by the Autumn.  

My Nick when he was a baby…soooo cute xx

We have huge trees at the front of our house that need cutting back each year. I’ve noticed our lounge is getting darker at the front and that’s an indication the trees need doing. They completely shield us from the road and I’ve always loved them. That’s the first job, to get them cut back in the next week or so.  Summerhouse needs a treatment so Randy is on to that. 

Our hallway is in need of a makeover and this is something we usually do ourselves. This time we will get someone in to do it and Andy from The Pings is going to do it as that’s his line of work. I’m not good on colours but really want to brighten it up..so I’m scouring colour charts currently. I’ll let you know how that goes. At the same time Andy will do our kitchen. It was completely revamped a few years back so we won’t be renewing cupboards or appliances, just painting the walls and generally cheering it up.  

That will keep us busy for the next few weeks and once the weather warms up we can concentrate on the outside. I need to clear the greenhouse completely and still plan on having a garage sale to get rid of stuff. We have lived in this house for 25 years so have collected lots of bits and pieces, it will be nice to have a clear out.  Please let me know if you would like to come along for a rummage. 

Alex has just returned from Germany where she spent Easter with her American boyfriend Justin. They travelled around and went to Disneyland in Paris, and just had a great time. I missed her and was glad when she got back…it made me realise how much I will miss her when she joins the US Airforce later this year.  


In the next couple of weeks I will be invigilating GCSE exams at school. I’ve been doing this for about 8 years and really enjoy it. This is the first year I won’t have one of my own children at the school but I’ve known most of these kids since primary school. I think it’s reassuring for them to see a familiar face as these exams can be pretty daunting and I try to be reassuring with a smiling face as they go into their exams. They like that I think. It’s good to see them come out at the other end..ready for their journey into adult life and that’s something I’ve always enjoyed. I think when I go to the US I am going to try and invigilate over there. It will be interesting to see how their systems are different to ours. Here’s hoping my good friend Christa will give me a glowing reference to take with me. 

On Good Friday my sister Lisa always hosts the family fish and chips night at her house. She cooks everything for about 25 people and it’s great to get together and catch up. The younger ones have their Easter eggs and we just have a great time, This year was lovely, listening to 80s music on the TV in the background and reminiscing.  

When I was in the US Carol and Barry taught me a great card game called Hand and Foot. We played it on their Wednesday card evenings with their friends. It involves several packs of cards and is similar to Canasta. I’ve now bought the cards and will be teaching it to Randy and the kids…. if I can remember the rules !  

Tomorrow evening I will spend the evening with The Pings. Really looking forward to that. Starting with a meal together followed by a comedy night. Can’t wait.  

Have just heard that the weather is going to turn really cold next week ! What’s that all about ? What happened to Spring ? I need to sort the garden..the greenhouse… the summerhouse… oh well… another cosy weekend indoors.. xx 

Just a few photos I fancied sharing 

Alex and Randy

Thank you so much for reading my blog, I really do appreciate it.    I’ll be carrying on with it  right through to the move to the US.  Please leave a comment to let me know you’re there and also please  consider following me as it puts me higher on the google search and ensures you’re advised when a new  blog is published.   

Until next time…..

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Teresa cooper says:

    When are we going to be able to meet up Julie ? I have so much to tell you 😃 Let me know when you are free x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonymous says:

    Can’t wait to see you tonight Me Julie xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lisa says:

    Selfishly glad you’re staying for a while.as you say that year will rush by I know so we must make the most of it xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lesley says:

    Lovely to read your blog again Julie & so pleased we’ve got a little more time to spend with you xx So looking forward to seeing you tonight, should be fun! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Christa says:

    Morning coffee and a good read of my friends’s blog, a great way to start my day. Of course I will give you a glowing reference goes without saying. We are a great support to each other in our professional lives too. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Christa says:

    Morning coffee and a good read of my friend’s blog, what more do I need to start my day. Of course I will give you a glowing reference, goes without saying, You are a huge support to me in our professional lives too. Still we have another whole year of you to look forward too. 😁😁😁xx

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mandy says:

    So glad your staying another year
    I know you’ll miss Alex terribly but as you say it’ll go quickly
    I’ll expect another visit to Folkestone in the summer as we will be moving permanently
    Molly taking her gcse this and next month it’s all very stressful as she had to go into school over the holidays for extra revision
    But I know it’s only for a short time and then she can relax and enjoy the summer
    Hope your all well
    Love
    Mandy xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

